Tennessee Holocaust Commission Home

Latest News

2017 Belz-Lipman Award Winners Announced

March 1st, 2017

 Tennessee Holocaust Commission announces the winners of the 2017 Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award

Click here for the press release

The Tennessee Holocaust Commission (THC) is proud to announce the winners of the 2017 Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award.  The winners are:

  • Sandra Boyer, Central High School, Memphis, TN
  • Dan Carpenter, Christ Presbyterian Academy, Nashville, TN
  • Lori Wilhoit, South Greene High School, Greeneville, TN

These educators will receive a $1,500 scholarship which can be used to develop new curriculum, purchase resources and attend trainings that will help further engage their students in the study of the Holocaust. The award ceremony will take place on Tuesday, March 7, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. at the State Capitol in the House Chamber as part of The Tennessee Holocaust Commission’s Annual Day of Remembrance Holocaust Commemoration.  The commemoration ceremony is free and open to the public.

Since 1995 the Tennessee Holocaust Commission (THC) has sponsored the Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award. Established by Memphis entrepreneurs and philanthropists Jack A. Belz and Ira Lipman, the award recognizes outstanding educators who excel in the teaching of the Holocaust.  Each year educators from East, West, and Middle Tennessee are honored. Past recipients of the award have gone on to attend international conferences, been appointed as teacher fellows to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and served as educational liaisons for the THC. 

 Belz-Lipman 2018 Information and Application

To apply for the prestigious Belz-Lipman Award please fill out our application form and send it to the following address:

Tennessee Holocaust Commission
P.O. Box 95252
Nashville, TN 37205